On Moodle, every time you log in, view a course, click on a link, open a file, post to a forum, or submit a quiz answer or an assignment Moodle saves a time-stamped log of that activity and these logs are collectively known as your usage data. You can always see your own usage data; and depending on their role, other people -- such as your professors -- will be able to see some or all of the data collected about you.
View your own data
- Log in to Moodle.
- Click your name in top right of the screen to open your account menu.
- Click Profile.
- Under Reports, choose either:
- Today’s logs — for usage data collected about you in the last 24 hours.
- All logs — for usage data collected about you from the first time you logged in to Moodle.
Who else can see this data?
Moodle course and system roles determine who can see what:
- Registered Students and Auditors in Moodle course can only see their own usage data, submissions, and grades.
- Teachers and Non-Editing Teachers in a Moodle course can see course-level usage data, submissions, and grades for all course participants. They cannot see usage data, submissions or grades related to participants' activity in other courses.
- A small subset of LITS staff who are Moodle system administrators can see all usage data, submissions, and grades for all participants in all courses. Our Moodle Policy governs how they use this data.
If you have any additional questions or problems, don't hesitate to reach out to the Help Desk!