Whenever you take an action on Moodle ( log in, view a course, open a quiz, etc.), Moodle saves a time-stamped log of that activity. These logs are collectively known as your usage data. You can always see your own usage data, and, depending on their role, other people can see this data as well.
Before you start, you may need the following:
- an Instructor of Record or Other Editing Teacher role in a Bryn Mawr Moodle course.
View your own data
- Log in to Moodle.
- Click your name in top right of the screen to open your account menu.
- Click Profile.
- Under Reports, choose either:
- Today’s logs — for usage data collected about you in the last 24 hours.
- All logs — for usage data collected about you from the first time you logged in to Moodle.
Who else can see this data?
Moodle course and system roles determine who can see what:
- Registered Students and Auditors in Moodle course can only see their own usage data, submissions, and grades.
- Teachers and Non-Editing Teachers in a Moodle course can see course-level usage data, submissions, and grades for all course participants. They cannot see usage data, submissions or grades related to participants' activity in other courses.
- A small subset of LITS staff who are Moodle system administrators can see all usage data, submissions, and grades for all participants in all courses. Our Moodle Policy governs how they use this data.
If you have any additional questions or problems, don't hesitate to reach out to the Help Desk!