Moodle: Hide/show entire course

By default, all Moodle participants (e.g., Teachers, Non-editing teachers, Registered students and Auditors) can see and access a course as soon as they are enrolled in it. Only participants with a Teacher role can hide or show a course.

Before you start, you may need access to the following:

Hide an entire course 

To hide an entire course from Registered students and Auditors:

  1. Click on the gear icon (Actions menu) in the top right corner of the course site.
  2. Choose Edit Settings.
  3. Under General, click on the Course Visibility drop-down menu and choose Hide.
  4. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click Save and Display.

To unhide the course, follow the steps above, but set Course Visibility back to Show.

  • If you hide an academic course, be sure to unhide it again when students need to access it. Moodle does not do this automatically!) 
  • If you just need to hide parts of a course see Moodle: Hide/Show Sections and Items

Questions?

If you have any additional questions or problems, don't hesitate to reach out to the Help Desk!

Phone: 610-526-7440 | Library and Help Desk hours
Email: help@brynmawr.eduService catalog
Location: Canaday Library 1st floor